Tags

,

How did you like that tease?
Truth be told, I wanted to wait until it was completely finished, but that could take another month or so! So, without further ado…
IMG_1111

IMG_1090
 
What a difference it ha made! Can you believe it originally looked something like this?
woodenhutch

It certainly took a lot of priming, and several coats of paint to give that little wooden hutch some TLC. It was one of my first projects during  the few months before my wedding day. I was mad on the hunt through garage sales and thrift stores for furniture for my first home. This little hutch was actually a gift from my aunt-in-law!
I loved the result, but I knew it still needed a little more character. I love my wedding china so much, but it wasn’t popping much with the white-on-white.
I envisioned some blue in there to go with my kitchen colors, but I was unsure how it would turn out. Should I paint the whole hutch a blue, or just the inner panels? I did a little research and fell in love with these inspiration photos a few months ago!

ce645157-f5a2-43b2-b551-085323a3eecc

source: unknown- Anyone? (I clipped this to my evernote months ago)

I don’t know what was holding me back! But once the wax incident happened, I knew I was going to need to paint the whole thing anyway so it was a perfect push!
IMG_1098
IMG_1116
IMG_1092

I’ve been mixing in other blue cups and a teapot for accents (see 1st pic) but I like having just the teapot on the third shelf for an accent. What do you think?
IMG_1118

I’m sure you’ve noticed I STILL didn’t take care of the wax problem. It’s still there! Baby steps! That will be the next step, but since it’s a much more involved project, it will have to wait until the weather STAYS warm.
Besides, it’s not so distracting anymore with the pretty blue!
 IMG_1121

I am in love with the new look!

*Sharing at Miss Mustard Seed’s Furniture Feature Party